Beatroot > Sports


PCB leaves it up to ICC to convince India to travel to Pakistan for Champions Trophy

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has left it up to the International Cricket Council (ICC) to convince the BCCI to send its team to Pakistan for the upcoming champions Trophy, scheduled to be held in the first quarter of next year.

According to a PCB source, while the budget for the Champions Trophy was approved at the recent ICC meetings in Colombo, the schedule and format didn’t come up for discussion at all. “The PCB now has done what was required of it as hosts of the Champions Trophy. It has submitted the draft schedule and format for the event and also submitted budget for the event,” a PCB insider said.

“It is now up to the ICC how soon they circulate, discuss and finalize the schedule of the Champions Trophy. The PCB for its part in the draft schedule has suggested hosting all of India’s games in Lahore including a semi-final (if India qualifies) and final,” he said. Another source said that the PCB has already submitted all details in its expression of interest document with the ICC as hosts of the Champions Trophy.

“The PCB for its part has given in writing to the ICC about the tax modalities, venue selections and clearance from its government for Indian team to be hosted in Pakistan for the mega event,” he added.

Yesterday | Search on Google News | Link

Bindra awarded Olympic Order by IOC for outstanding services to Olympic Movement

Indian shooting legend Abhinav Bindra has been awarded the Olympic Order by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) for his outstanding services to the Olympic Movement.

The award ceremony will be held during the 142nd IOC Session in Paris on August 10, a day before the closing of the Olympics.

"It is with great pleasure that I inform you that the IOC Executive Board has decided to award you with the Olympic Order for your outstanding services to the Olympic Movement," IOC President wrote in a letter addressed to Bindra and dated July 20. The Olympic Order is the highest award of the IOC, given for distinguished contributions to the Olympic Movement. 

It is awarded to recognise an individual who has illustrated the Olympic ideal through his/her action, has achieved remarkable merit in the sporting world, or has rendered outstanding services to the Olympic cause, either through his own personal achievement or his contribution to the development of sport.

Yesterday | Search on Google News | Link

Charith Asalanka replaces Wanindu Hasaranga as Sri Lanka's T20 captain for India series

Sri Lanka has appointed batter Charith Asalanka as the new T20I captain for their upcoming three-match home series against India. Asalanka succeeds all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, who stepped down following Sri Lanka's group stage exit in the 2024 T20 World Cup.

India's tour of Sri Lanka includes three T20Is and three ODIs. Like Sri Lanka, India will also have a new captain, with Suryakumar Yadav leading the team. Both Asalanka and Yadav have previously captained their respective sides, with Asalanka leading Sri Lanka in two T20Is against Bangladesh earlier this year.

Hasaranga remains part of the squad, along with senior players such as Maheesh Theeksana, Dinesh Chandimal, and Dasun Shanaka. Sri Lanka Cricket has not yet announced any changes in captaincy for other formats. Currently, Kusal Mendis captains the ODI team, while Dhananjaya de Silva leads the Test team.

Sri Lanka squad: Charith Asalanka (capt), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Janith Perera (wk), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Kamindu Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamindu Wickramasinghe, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando.

Yesterday | Search on Google News | Link

India men's cricket team arrives in Sri Lanka for white-ball series

The Indian men's cricket team under new head coach Gautam Gambhir and captain Suryakumar Yadav arrived in Pallekele, Sri Lanka, via Colombo to a warm welcome, with the recently-crowned T20 world champions playfully mingling with fans and giving them some precious moments.

The 15-member India team along with the support staff had left Mumbai on Monday after a pre-departure press conference addressed by Gambhir, who took over Rahul Dravid as the national coach, and BCCI's chairman of selectors Ajit Agarkar. India will play a three-match T20I series against the home side, who are yet to announce their squad. The Suryakumar-led side will play the first of the three T20Is on July 27, followed by matches on July 28 and 30.

The team will then travel to Colombo to play three One-day Internationals scheduled for August 2, 4 and 7.

Yesterday | Search on Google News | Link